Nov 15, 2012 7:44 PM by Andrew Masuda

Giants' Buster Posey wins NL MVP in a landslide, Cabrera voted AL MVP

San Francisco's Buster Posey won the National League's Most Valuable Player Award in a landslide on Thursday. Detroit's Miguel Cabrera has won the American League's Most Valuable Player award after becoming baseball's first Triple Crown winner in 45 years.

Posey got 27 of 32 firsts and 422 points from the NL panel, outdistancing 2011 winner Ryan Braun of Milwaukee, who was second with 285 points. The catcher can add the MVP trophy to a shelf that already includes the 2010 NL Rookie of the Year and 2012 Comeback Player of the Year.

Posey led the National League with a .336 batting average to go with 39 doubles, 24 home runs and 103 RBI. He is the tenth Giant to win the MVP award and first since Barry Bonds won in 2001-2004. Posey is the first catcher to win the NL MVP since Johnny Bench in 1972.

Cabrera received 22 of 28 first-place votes and 362 points from the AL panel of Baseball Writers' Association of America. Los Angeles Angels rookie center fielder Mike Trout had six firsts and 281 points.



Offensive or inappropriate comments are subject to removal. To report a comment, please e-mail us at feedback@ksby.com, and include the name of the story and information on the comment.

Thank you! KSBY.com

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4