May 1, 2013 11:36 PM by Andrew Masuda

Making Waves: Righetti boys, SLO girls capture Pac 7 swimming titles

On a day where eight new meet records were set, the San Luis Obispo girls and Righetti boys swimming and diving teams captured Pac 7 League titles on Wednesday to end the dynasties of the Arroyo Grande girls and San Luis Obispo boys teams.

Powered by a record 200 medley relay time of 1:36.39, a record 400 freestyle relay time of 3:11.65 and Jeremy Grden's record-breaking 47.43 second time in the 100 freestyle, the Warriors solidified their first outright Pac 7 league team crown in 13 years. San Luis Obispo boys swimming had won 12-straight league titles.

Grden also won the 50 free with a time of 21.57 seconds, edging teammate Devon Tomooka by .07 of a second. Righetti's Lucas Sheckherd won the 200 free title in 1:46.09, edging Collin Moore of Paso Robles by .80 of a second.

Righetti racked up 602 total points, while AG finished second in the meet with 479 points, followed by SLO with 464 points. The Paso Robles boys finished fourth on the day with 352 points, while Atascadero came in fifth with 156 points, St. Joseph in sixth with 79 and Pioneer Valley in seventh with 63.

Arroyo Grande High's Zach Stevens set two meet records. He broke his own record in the 200 individual medley with a time of 1:55.78. He later took the 100 breaststroke with a record time of 55.84 seconds.

Graham Johnson of SLO won the 100 butterfly in 52.71 and the Tigers' Evan Holtz, a junior, captured the 500 free title in 4:45.82. Nolan Newland earned the win the 100 backstroke for the Tigers with a time of 53.54.

The San Luis Obispo girls snapped AG's 7 year reign in the Pac 7. The Tigers earned 453 points, while Atascadero finished second with 405 points and AG racked up 400 to secure third place. Righetti came in fourth, Paso Robles came in fifth and St. Joseph in sixth followed by Pioneer Valley.

San Luis Obispo scored two wins from Gabrielle Penvenne, who won the 100 butterfly in 57.94 and 100 backstroke in 59.83 seconds. Teagan Griffith repeated as league champion in the 100 free with a time of 54.32 seconds.

Atascadero junior Rachel Gruetzmacher took the 50 yard free crown in meet record time of 24.48 seconds and Claire Leong won the 100 breaststroke when she touched the wall six seconds ahead of the runner-up in 1:09.63.

Paso Robles junior Amanda Oliver won the 200 free with a time of 1:58.99. Righetti junior Casey Kennemann won the 200 IM in 2:10.40 and UNLV bound Kristina Hendrick won the 500 free in 5:07.87 for the Warriors.

The Righetti girls set two meet relay records winning the 200 free relay in 1:40.81 and the 400 free in 3:37.42.



Offensive or inappropriate comments are subject to removal. To report a comment, please e-mail us at feedback@ksby.com, and include the name of the story and information on the comment.

Thank you! KSBY.com

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4