Oct 31, 2012 8:54 PM by Andrew Masuda

Meko, Carey win LPL titles, MB Boys and Templeton girls earn team crowns

Nipomo High's Kyra Meko and Santa Ynez High's Jacob Carey won their first-ever Los Padres League cross country individual titles on Wednesday at the League Finals. The meet was hosted by Santa Maria High and took place on a 3 mile course at Waller Park.

Meko pulled away from Templeton High's Veronica Russell down the stretch to capture her first league crown. The Nipomo junior won in 19:31. Russell, a sophomore, who won the LPL Midseason Meet, finished in 19:48. Lompoc's Lacei Sanders came in third in 19:56, followed by Templeton's Dana Alpert in 20:12. Cabrillo's McKell Davis and Autumn Hersey finished fifth and sixth overall.

When all the numbers were added, the Templeton girls earned 46 points in the final to win the overall team title. It marked the program's first championship since it joined the LPL. Lompoc finished second in the finals with 70 points after it placed five runners in the top 19. Nipomo and Morro Bay finished tied for third on the day with 75 points.

Carey, a senior, distanced himself down the stretch to win the varsity boys race in 16:19. Cabrillo's Cameron Hernandez finished second in 16:32, outkicking Austin Lay of Morro Bay to the finish line. Santa Ynez High's Roberto Bazan finished fourth in 16:53. Nipomo senior Alex Hascall came in fifth, while Billy Vedrin of Morro Bay, Templeton's Nick Landy and Morro Bay's Daniel Van Beurden rounded out the top eight.

Morro Bay, which won the midseason LPL meet, won the overall team title by taking the league final with 44 points. All five of the Pirates' scoring runners finished in the top 14. Cabrillo finished in second place, while Santa Ynez, the defending LPL champion, finished third.



Offensive or inappropriate comments are subject to removal. To report a comment, please e-mail us at feedback@ksby.com, and include the name of the story and information on the comment.

Thank you! KSBY.com

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4