Dec 27, 2013 8:14 PM by Pearce Bley, KSBY News
In just five days, new laws will take effect across the state. Governor Jerry Brown signed about 1,000 bills during the 2013 legislative session.
Many of the laws that will affect Californians in 2014 will be on the roadways.
The statute of limitations on prosecuting hit and run offenders has been raised from three to six years. Drivers will also have to allow bicyclists three feet of space if they are riding on the shoulder.
Drivers of cars with a "clean air" sticker will now be allowed to drive in the carpool lane without meeting minimum passenger requirements until 2019. Paid family leave will now include time off to care for a sibling, grandparent or parent in law. Previously, paid family leave had only applied when caring for a spouse, child or direct parent.
California will also see its first raise in minimum wage in five years, although it won't come into effect until July. The minimum wage will be raised from $8 to $9 July 1, 2014 and then to $10 in 2016.
PLEASE HELP US MODERATE COMMENTS
Offensive or inappropriate comments are subject to removal. To report a comment, please e-mail us at firstname.lastname@example.org, and include the name of the story and information on the comment.
Thank you! KSBY.com
19 minutes ago