Jun 18, 2013 8:17 PM by Keli Moore, KSBY News

San Luis Obispo Special Election set to end tonight

The San Luis Obispo Special Election to fill the vacant City Council seat ends Tuesday at 8 p.m.

Five candidates are formally listed on the ballot to fill the vacant seat left by Andrew Carter, who took a job with the city of Guadalupe; however, two of the candidates, Kevin Rice and John Spatafore, have withdrawn from the race.

"There are five on the ballot, five qualified candidates, as of March 22nd. Since that time two of the candidates have publicly withdrawn their names, however due to election codes, because they were qualified on the 88th day before the election, all five names appear on the ballot," said Maeve Kennedy Grimes, City Clerk of San Luis Obispo.

This special election also comes with a price tag. San Luis Obispo had to hire a consulting firm to assist with the election. City officials said the total cost will be roughly $100,000.

The three remaining candidates are Carlyn Christianson, a San Luis Obispo County Planning Commissioner; Paul Brown, a police officer in Guadalupe; and Donald Hedrick, a former mayoral candidate.

Results will be updated all night Tuesday, beginning at 8:30 p.m. The winner should be announced before midnight.

The new city council member will be sworn in during the city's next council meeting on July 2, 2013.



Offensive or inappropriate comments are subject to removal. To report a comment, please e-mail us at feedback@ksby.com, and include the name of the story and information on the comment.

Thank you! KSBY.com

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4