Local Spotlight

May 2, 2014 1:37 PM by Dan Shadwell

San Luis Obispo Symphony performs Beethoven Violin Concerto with soloist Jennifer Frautschi

The San Luis Obispo Symphony's final concert of the season Saturday night includes two massive works in the repertoire... Stravinsky's ballet, "Petrushka," then violinist, Jennifer Frautschi will join the orchestra to perform Beethoven's Violin Concerto in D-major.
It's part of SLO Symphony's Classic Series.
The ballet centers around a character of Russian folk puppetry, known as Petrushka.
Then Frautschi takes the stage to perform the only concerto for violin Beethoven ever composed.
Frautschi is a world class violinist, and she'll be playing an instrument made in 1722 by the legendary Antonio Stradivarius .
"Many of these Strads have nicknames based on who their former owners were," Frautschi explained. "This is called the ex-Cadiz. There was an owner in the mid 1800s who lived in the town of Cadiz on the coast of Spain."
The performance starts at eight pm at the Christopher Cohan Center at the PAC in San Luis Obispo.
For ticket information, type the word "links" at the top of the KSBY web page.



Offensive or inappropriate comments are subject to removal. To report a comment, please e-mail us at feedback@ksby.com, and include the name of the story and information on the comment.

Thank you! KSBY.com

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4