May 15, 2013 10:32 PM by Andrew Masuda

SLO and AG tennis win CIF semifinals, face off in championship

The boys tennis teams from Arroyo Grande and San Luis Obispo High Schools have never won a CIF title. That will change on Friday when the two rivals play in the CIF Division 3 Championship at the Claremont Tennis Club.

The Eagles, who knocked off second seeded Cypress in the quarterfinals, defeated Temecula Valley 13-5 in Wednesday's semifinals. Arroyo Grande improved to 21-5 overall. The Eagles led 4-2 after the first round, 8-4 after the second round and won 5 of the 6 sets in the third round. Eli Whittle remained undefeated in the playoffs. The Brown recruit won 6-0, 7-6 (7-5) and 6-0, while UC Santa Cruz-bound Sean Hollister swept 6-2, 6-3 and 6-3 for the Eagles. Derek Lakowske won one set 6-0, but lost 4-6 and 3-6.

AG received solid doubles play from all three teams. Jamieson O'Marr and Jake Sarver won twice, 0-6, 6-1 and 7-6. Bryan Rozo and Tyler Anderson teamed up to win 6-4, 6-2 and 4-6, while Cole Laughton and Ryley Anderson won two out of their three sets 4-6, 6-2 and 6-3.

San Luis Obispo, which knocked off the #1 seed Valencia in the second round, edged Wilson in Long Beach 10-8 in the semifinals. The two teams split the first round 3-3, but SLO led 7-5 after the second round. The match was tied 8 sets apiece when Brooks Rossi won his singles set 6-1 to put the Tigers ahead 9-8. The Tigers' #2 singles player Nick Johnson came from behind to win his set 7-6 to clinch the victory.

Junior Mason Hansen won all 3 of his sets 6-1, 6-1 and 6-1 to stay undefeated in the postseason. The #1 doubles team of Josh Milla and Scott Hicks also swept 7-5, 6-3 and 6-2. Luke Iunker and Noah Cleere, who were undefeated going into the match, lost one set. But they still teamed up to win 2 of 3 for the Tigers.

The Pac 7 champion Eagles beat the Tigers twice in league play. AG won the first meeting by virtue of games after they each won 9 sets. The Eagles won on their home courts 12-6 later in the season.

The championship is set to begin at 12 pm on Friday in Claremont.

Arroyo Grande has only been to the finals once and that was in 1970. The Tigers have made three trips to the championship round, but lost in 1998, 1999 and 2000.



Offensive or inappropriate comments are subject to removal. To report a comment, please e-mail us at feedback@ksby.com, and include the name of the story and information on the comment.

Thank you! KSBY.com

Most Popular

Top Videos

1 2 3 4