Oct 12, 2010 8:52 PM by Ariel Wesler (MQ)
The California Highway Patrol will be targeting distracted drivers tomorrow and Thursday.
CHP officers will join law enforcement officers throughout Santa Barbara County to aggressively seek out drivers talking on a cell phone without a hands-free device. The CHP says in 2008 more than 30,000 drivers in California got into collisions because of distractions. Officers can cite you directly cite you for using a cell phone, but other distractions can still lead to a ticket.
"Even if you are changing your radio station, if you veer off the roadway and come back on, it's still a moving violation, you're looking at a point on your record. We're not going to cite you for changing the radio station, but we will cite you for the moving violation," said CHP Officer Rob Wallace.
In Santa Barbara County, the fine for first-time violators is more than $150.
PLEASE HELP US MODERATE COMMENTS
Offensive or inappropriate comments are subject to removal. To report a comment, please e-mail us at firstname.lastname@example.org, and include the name of the story and information on the comment.
Thank you! KSBY.com
7 hours ago