NewsElection 2022


Primary election ballot count nearly complete in SLO County

ballot counting still.JPG
Posted at 6:27 PM, Jul 01, 2022
and last updated 2022-07-01 22:29:46-04

The San Luis Obispo County Clerk-Recorder's Office on Friday released more ballot results from the June 7 Primary Election.

County elections officials report they have 262 ballots left to count. Clerk-Recorder Elaina Cano says the last-minute processes they are working to complete include investigating ballots with missing or mismatched signatures and ballots that have an envelope signed by someone else in the same household.

The remaining ballots are expected to be counted and the election certified on July 7.

In the tightest race of the election -- District 2 Supervisor -- current supervisor Bruce Gibson remains below the threshold to secure his seat for another term. He would need more than 50% of the vote to win the primary but as of July 1, he has just under 48%.

That means he will face off with the second-place finisher in the November election. That's Bruce Jones who has nearly 19% of the vote. Challengers Geoff Auslen and John Whitworth follow close behind with 17% and 16% respectively.

In the District 3 Supervisor race, Dawn Ortiz-Legg will keep her seat on the board. She has nearly 63% of the vote to Stacy Korsgaden's 34%. Arnold Ruiz received 3% of the vote.

In District 4, Jimmy Paulding has enough votes to unseat current supervisor Lynn Compton. He has 52% of the vote to Compton's 48%. They are separated by 638 votes.

In the race for Superior Court Judge, Mike Frye defeated Paul M. Phillips 67% to 33%.

Elania Cano will retain her seat as SLO County Clerk-Recorder. She has 62% of the vote. Challengers James Arthur Baugh and Stew Jenkins have 22% and 16% respectively.

In the Morro Bay City Council race, Jen Ford will keep her seat on the council. She has 57% of the vote to James Costanzo's 43%.

Oceano's Measure A, which would have increased property taxes to pay for emergency services, requires a two-thirds majority vote in order to pass but only has 58% 'yes' votes.