NewsLocal News


CHP revamps registration violators program, asks people to report out-of-state license plates

You must register your vehicle within 20 days of establishing residency
Posted at 6:42 PM, Nov 23, 2019
and last updated 2019-11-23 21:42:17-05

California Highway Patrol is revamping its registration violators program and asking people to help report out-of-state license plates.

The program is now called the CHP Registration and Enforcement Guidance (CHP REG) and aims to minimize the number of vehicles violating out-of-state registration laws.

The program will replace the previous "Californians Help Eliminate All The Evasive Registration Scofflaws" (CHEATERS) program.

According to CHP, the main focus of the program is to educate new California residents on state registration laws.

CHP said many out-of-state people don't know they are required to register their vehicle with the DMV within 20 days of establishing residency.

"It's really to make sure that everyone who is using our roadways is paying their taxes and helping maintain and upkeep the roadways," said Patrick Seebart, the Public Information Officer for Templeton CHP.

The program encourages the community to report out-of-state vehicles driving state roadways on a regular basis.

To learn more about how to send in an anonymous tip, click here. To view the late-registration fees, click here.