NewsLocal News


Close races in Santa Barbara city council election

Posted at 6:04 PM, Nov 06, 2019
and last updated 2019-11-06 21:04:03-05

Ballots are still being tallied after Santa Barbara's city council election on Tuesday.

Voters in Districts 1 and 2 cast ballots for their council members.

In District 1, preliminary results show a tight race between Jason Dominguez and Alejandra Gutierrez who have 563 and 532 votes respectively. Cruzito Herrera Cruz has 68 votes.

In District 2, Mike Jordan is leading with 935 votes, followed by Brian Campbell with 791 votes, Teri Jory with 449 votes, Tavis Boise with 232 votes, and Luis Esparza with 189 votes.

The City of Santa Barbara contracted with the Los Angeles County Elections Office to count the ballots, and there are at least 2,280 ballots left to be tallied.

Updated results will be available on Santa Barbara's election website as additional tallies are completed.

The winning candidates will serve five-year terms.

In November 2021, voters will choose a mayor and council members for Districts 4, 5 and 6. They will also each serve five-year terms.

Starting in November 2024, the city will switch to even-year elections and the winning candidates will serve four-year terms.

District 3 was originally included in this year's election, but only one candidate qualified for the race and was appointed to the seat by the city council in August.