NewsLocal News


New board elected to Montecito Emergency Response and Recovery Action Group

Posted at 8:30 PM, Feb 05, 2019
and last updated 2019-02-05 23:30:20-05

The Montecito Emergency Response and Recovery Action Group, or MERRAG, has a new president and board members.

The group elected the new members at an annual meeting last month.

MERRAG is a volunteer group that provides personnel and communications support during emergencies. It also provides training on recovery and response. Members of the group helped keep the community informed during the Thomas Fire and Montecito debris flow.

Troy Harris was elected president. Other officers and members who were elected include 2nd Vice President Carri Haffner, Treasurer Gayle Tucker, Secretary Tom Schleck, At-Large Member Sue Ziliotto, At-Large Member David Boyd, At-Large Member Vicky Harbison, At-Large Member Phyllis Marble, At-Large Member Sandie Owens, At-Large Member Warner Owens, At-Large Member Keith Yeager, and immediate Past President John Zilliotto.

Newly-elected members say they’re ready for another year of service.

“We are seeing not only climate change, such as sundowners and resulting wildfires, winter storms, and debris flows but also some human-dynamics sea changes. We are evolving in the practice of emergency management,” said incoming President Troy Harris.

The new members were sworn in by Montecito Fire Chief Chip Hickman.