California veterans can now add their veteran status to their driver's license, making it easier for them to access certain benefits all while carrying around less identification.
"The California Legislature passed a new law that allows the veterans designation be placed on driver's licenses," said Administrative Services Officer for Veteran Services Hans Poschman. "It allows a veteran to go into a business and prove their veteran status without having to carry around their DD214."
According to Veterans Services for San Luis Obispo County, the process is pretty simple.
It requires vets to visit a veteran's service office with their original certificate of release or discharge, also known as a DD214.
"Bring in your DD214. Our team will verify your veteran status and if you're eligible, we will give you a form you take to the DMV," Poschman said.
Once at the DMV, eligible individuals will pay a one-time fee of $5 for the change to be made.
"So to be able to have that on your driver's license is huge. California has some of the best benefits for veterans, so adding that to the equation is huge," said one local veteran.
Those at Veterans Services also said that stopping by to see if you are eligible for veteran designation is also a great opportunity to see what other benefits you may quality for.
While there is a one time fee of $5 to add the veteran status to a driver's license, other fees could be associated with renewing or duplicating a license at the DMV.