Harmon leading in San Luis Obispo mayoral race

Posted at 9:51 PM, Nov 03, 2020
and last updated 2020-11-04 03:07:31-05

Early Election Night results showed incumbent Heidi Harmon leading in the San Luis Obispo mayoral race.

As of 9:15 p.m., Harmon had 54% of the vote, while her closest challenger, business owner Cherisse Sweeney, had nearly 32% of the vote.

Sandra Marshall-Eminger had 12% of the vote, and Donald Hedrick had a little more than 1%.

If re-elected, this will be Harmon's third term as mayor of San Luis Obispo.

"It's been really hard to connect with people we've been super limited in that way," Harmon said of this year's election. "Also it's been so divisive, so negative, so challenging in those types of ways too, but also there's never been more at stake."

Two seats on the city council are also up for grabs this election, with eight people on the ballot.

Incumbent council member Andrea "Andy" Pease was leading the race with 7,887 votes, followed by former mayor Jan Howell Marx with 6,558 votes.

Abrianna Torres has 5,199 votes, James Papp has 3,644, Kelly Evans has 3,518, Robin Wolf has 1,790, Erik Long has 1,755, and Jeffery Specht has 1,234 votes.

Click here for updated election results throughout the evening.