NewsLocal News


Oceano/Five Cities Elks awards $14,000 to local high school seniors

Posted at 11:51 PM, Jun 13, 2020

Eight graduating seniors in San Luis Obipso County were recognized for their accomplishments by a local fraternal organization.

The Oceano/Five Cities Elks Lodge (#2504) recently awarded $14,000 in college scholarships to seniors from Arroyo Grande High School, Nipomo High School, Lopez High School and Central Coast New Tech High School.

Scholarships included six "Teenager of the Year" awards totaling $12,000.

Also included were one $1000 Ladies of the Elks (LOE) Scholarship and one $1000 Past Exalted Ruler Association (PERA) Scholarship.

Here's a list of this year's recipients:

  • Arroyo Grande High School Teenagers of the Year:
    • Nathaniel Hansen and Sophie Mitchem
  • Nipomo High School Teenagers of the Year:
    • Jaquelin Soto & Hunter Long
  • Central Coast New Tech High School Teenager of the Year:
    • Harrison Winikoff & Josh Aguilar
  • Lopez High School Teenagers of the Year:
    • Shayne Howard (PERA) & Makayla Burden (LOE)

Additionally, four students were recipients of awards through the California Hawaii Elks Association (Nicholas Houchin, Claire Wellenkamp, Harrison Winikoff, and Shane Hoover).

CHEA award amounts vary between $800 and $2,000.

In place of an in-person awards banquet, students were asked to submit a video of their future career plans.

The Oceano/Five Cities Elks plans to host the students at a later date.

The Oceano/Five Cities Elks Lodge has been serving the Central Coast for over 46 years and has provided more than $1,100,000 in donations for various causes in the Five Cities Community.