NewsLocal News


Santa Barbara voters to choose new city council members Tuesday

Posted at 5:07 PM, Nov 04, 2019
and last updated 2019-11-04 20:07:54-05

Voters in certain parts of Santa Barbara will cast ballots Tuesday for new city council members.

The city is broken up into six districts, with one city council member elected from each district.

This year, voters will choose city council members in Districts 1 and 2.

The candidates in District 1 are:

  • Cruzito Herrera Cruz
  • Jason Dominguez
  • Alejandra Gutierrez

The candidates in District 2 are:

  • Brian Campbell
  • Luis Esparza
  • Teri Jory
  • Mike Jordan
  • Tavis Boise

The winning candidates will serve five-year terms.

In November 2021, voters will choose a mayor and council members for Districts 4, 5 and 6. They will also each serve five-year terms.

Starting in November 2024, the city will switch to even-year elections and the winning candidates will serve four-year terms.

District 3 was originally included in this year's election, but only one candidate qualified for the race and was appointed to the seat by the city council in August.

Voters may drop off their vote-by-mail ballots at the City Clerk's Office, City Hall lobby, Franklin Neighborhood Center, and Holy Cross Church. If sent through the mail, they must be postmarked by November 5 and be received on or before November 8.

Results of the election will be available on the city's website.