NewsNational News


Democrats set date for November debate in Georgia

Posted at 3:25 PM, Oct 08, 2019

The Democratic National Committee announced Tuesday that the fifth Democratic presidential primary debate will be held on November 20 in Georgia.

The debate will air live exclusively on MSNBC, and will livestream on NBC News and MSNBC digital platforms and on The Washington Post's web and mobile apps, according to the DNC. The venue, format and moderators will be announced at a future date.

The candidates who have met the thresholds to qualify for the November debate so far include: Former Vice President Joe Biden, New Jersey Sen. Cory Booker, South Bend, Indiana, Mayor Pete Buttigieg, California Sen. Kamala Harris, Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders, billionaire Tom Steyer, Massachusetts Sen. Elizabeth Warren and businessman Andrew Yang.

Last month, the DNC raised the polling and donor thresholds required to qualify for the November debate. Candidates will have to reach 3% in at least four DNC-approved polls of Democratic voters nationally or in one of the four early-voting states -- Iowa, New Hampshire, Nevada and South Carolina. The change is a 1 percentage point increase over the threshold for the September and October debates. Candidates also have a new option of reaching at least 5% in two polls of the early-voting states.

Candidates hoping to qualify need contributions from at least 165,000 individuals, coming from at least 600 unique donors in 20 or more states. The deadline for qualifying polls and donations for the November debate will be November 13 at 11:59 p.m., according to the DNC.

The DNC's announcement comes one week before the fourth Democratic presidential primary debate , hosted by CNN and The New York Times, is set to take place in Ohio. Twelve Democratic hopefuls are expected to appear on the same stage for the October 15 debate: Biden, Booker, Buttigieg, former Housing and Urban Development Secretary Julián Castro, Hawaii Rep. Tulsi Gabbard, Harris, Minnesota Sen. Amy Klobuchar, former Texas Rep. Beto O'Rourke, Sanders, Steyer, Warren and Yang.