NewsNational News


Heisman winner shines in LSU's national title win over Clemson

Posted at 9:18 PM, Jan 13, 2020

Led by Heisman Trophy winner Joe Burrow, the top-ranked LSU Tigers defeated the No. 3-ranked Clemson Tigers 42-25 to win the CFP National Championship played Monday night.

Monday’s win comes after LSU (15-0) won both the SEC title and Peach Bowl. LSU’s win in the Peach Bowl, which acted as a national semifinal, was by a dominating 63-28 scoreline over No. 4-ranked Oklahoma, the champs of the Big 12.

LSU prevented Clemson (14-1) from becoming the first team since the 2011 and 2012 Alabama Crimson Tide to win back to back national titles.

Burrow completed 31 passes for 463 yards, resulting in five touchdowns. He also ran for a touchdown. Burrow is expected to be the No. 1 pick by the Cincinnati Bengals in the upcoming NFL Draft.

LSU coach Ed Orgeron gave credit to his Heisman Trophy winning QB.

"He's one of the greatest players in LSU history. He's on a soapbox for the state of Louisiana and LSU. We are so grateful for Joe Burrow," Orgeron said following the game.

Orgeron was named head coach in 2017 after spending part of the 2016 as the interim coach, replacing Les Miles The 2017 season started out rough for Orgeron, especially after losing to Troy.

But following spring practice in 2018, Burrow decided to transfer from Ohio State in order to get playing time. It was a move that both benefited Burrow, an Ohio native, and Orgeron, who grew up mere miles from LSU's campus.

"I grew up wanting to be the head coach of LSU," Orgeron said. "I'm so proud of the state of Louisiana. We've had support from the governor, from the President, from everybody that loves LSU. I'm just so happy for the people from Louisiana. But you've got to give the credit to the football team. They've been working for one year. They deserve this day."

Burrow is the first Hesiman Trophy winner to win a national title in the same season since Derrick Henry helped Alabama to a title in 2015.

By completing five touchdown passes, Burrow set a college football records for passing touchdowns in a single season with 60.

Burrow was off to a hot start in the first half, completing 16 of 28 passes for 270 yards and threw for three touchdowns.

After Clemson took a 17-7 lead, Burrow’s offense responded with three touchdowns to grab a 28-17 lead before halftime. LSU never relinquished the lead.

A crucial moment took place in the third quarter when James Skalski was given a targeting penalty, and ejected from the game with LSU up just 28-25. Moments later, Burrow threw for a touchdown to give LSU a 35-25 advantage. The touchdown gave Burrow his 59th passing touchdown of the season, marking a new college football record.

He threw his 60th touchdown of the season in the fourth quarter, adding to his record and putting LSU's lead out of reach at 42-25.