Hancock’s Kris Dutra named Coach of the Year, Ryheem Skinner MVP, and 18 players earned recognition

Posted at 9:03 PM, Nov 30, 2018

Head Coach Kris Dutra and 18 student-athletes on the American Pacific League champion Allan Hancock College football team earned recognition from opposing coaches. The Bulldogs went unbeaten in league play at 5-0 to win back-to-back conference titles. Hancock also won the 2018 American Championship Bowl, defeating San Bernadino College 38-35 and finishing the season with a record of 10-1 overall.

Dutra received the league’s Coach of the Year award for the second time in 2 years. Dutra has guided the Bulldogs to nine bowl game appearances. This season he surpassed his mentor, Barney Eames, for most career wins in program history and stands at 110 victories.

Sophomore Ryheem Skinner received the league’s Offensive Player of the Year award. The running back from North Carolina finished with 1294 total rushing yards and 14 touchdowns. He ran for 130 yards and scored 2 touchdowns in the bowl game. Skinner was 5th in the state in yards per game with 117.6. Skinner was a First Team selection last season.

Nine Bulldogs were named to all-conference first teams. Defensive tackle Dominic King, defensive end Ray Paulo, offensive linebacker Curt McDonald, and punt returner Alex Cecci were named to the First Team Defense. The Bulldogs held opponents to 276.3 yards and 17.7 points a game.

Offensive lineman Robert Grice, Offensive lineman Kobe Tuitele, Tight end Jerome Afe, Running back Jayden Vargas and running back Isaac Bausley were named First Team Offense. The offense averaged 415.6 yards a game and scored 40.6 points a game. The Bulldogs led the state in total rushing yards with 3254.

Nine Bulldogs were named to all-conference second teams, including four on offense and five to defense. Offensive linemen TJ Boone, wide receiver Joe Guzman, quarterback Tommy Carr, and kicker Hector Gil-Garcia earned spots on the Second Team Offense.

Defensive end Seth Olice, linebacker Angelo Ortiz, cornerback Edjuan Works, safety Dominic Chapa, and punter Cade England were named to the Second Team Defense.

In the coming weeks, the California Community College Football Coaches Association will announce its All-America and All-California teams.

-Provided by Allan Hancock College