Mission Prep boys basketball prepares for 20th annual Christmas Classic

Posted at 6:51 PM, Dec 18, 2018
and last updated 2018-12-20 01:11:49-05

The 20th annual Mission Prep Christmas Classic tips off on Wednesday. It’s the largest boys basketball tournament in the county and this year, it will be one of the most prestigious.

The Royals are hosting 13 schools from around the state that features some top talent. One of the players is 16-year-old Jalen Green from San Joaquin Memorial High School. He is the top recruit in the 2020 class and a projected future No. 1 NBA draft pick.

It’s no surprise to see talent like that, Mission Prep has seen many NBA stars come through San Luis Obispo including:

-James Harden (Rockets)
-Demar De Rozan (Raptors)
-Brook Lopez (Lakers)
-Robin Lopez (Bulls)
-Justin Holiday (Bulls)
-Jrue Holiday (Pelicans)
-Ryan Anderson (Pelicans)
-Jeremy Lin (Nets)

A pair of NFL players, Rams’ Jared Goff and Jaguars’ Mercedes Lewis, also played in the Christmas Classic.

“We’re really looking forward to this year’s tournament, the 20th year of the Mission Prep Christmas Classic,” said Terrance Harris, Mission Prep head coach. “We got some of the best teams in the state really, some traditional powerhouses. Hosting this event is something we take with great pride. It means a lot, not just to our campus but to the community.”

“It means a great deal for us. It brings a lot of energy to the area and just showcasing what we got as a team and coming strong and what we got and stuff like that,” Max Rowley said, Mission Prep junior shooting guard.

The tournament starts Wednesday and ends on Saturday. The schedule can be found here.


2017 Champions: Bishop Montgomery MVP: David Singleton (Bishop Montgomery)

2016 Champions: Lincoln (Tacoma, WA) Bishop Montgomery MVP: Ethan Thompson (Bishop Montgomery)

2015 Champion: Bishop Montgomery MVP: Jordan Schakel

2014 Champion: J.W. North MVP: Dikymbe Martin

2013 Champion: Bishop Montogomery MVP: Justin Bibbins

2012 Champion: Bishop Montgomery  MVP: Lamond Murray Jr.

2011 Champion: Taft   MVP: Brandon Perry

2010 Champion: Taft   MVP: CJ Blackwell

2009 Champion: Taft   MVP: DeAndre Daniels

2008 Champion: Bishop Montgomery  MVP: Justin Cobbs

2007 Champion: Rainier Beach  MVP: Reggie Moore

2006 Champion: Campbell Hall  MVP: Jrue Holliday, Justin Holliday

2005 Champion: Artesia MVP: James Harden

2004 Champion: Thunder Ridge MVP: Matt Bouldin

2003 Champion: Bishop McNamara MVP: Tywon Lawson

2002 Champion: Long Beach Millikan MVP: Justin Onaka

2001 Champion: Crenshaw MVP: Terrance Jones

2000 Champion: Crenshaw MVP: M’Jumbe Williams

1999 Champion: Miami Christian MVP: Kelly Ortiz