Primary results: State Senate District 17

california capitol.PNG
Posted at 9:20 PM, Mar 03, 2020
and last updated 2020-03-04 00:55:50-05

Three Democrats and one Republican were on the primary ballot in the race for State Senate District 17.

District 17 includes all of San Luis Obispo and Santa Cruz counties and parts of Monterey and Santa Clara counties.

Super Tuesday results show John Laird with 46.9% of the vote, Vicki Nohrden — the only Republican in the race — with 35% of the vote, Maria Cadenas with 15.6%, and John M. Nevill with 2.4%.

The top two vote-getters will appear on the General Election ballot in November.

There is no incumbent in this race. Current Senator Bill Monning is terming out of office after eight years.

Click here to see the latest results for all of the races in the March 3 Primary Election.